Company structure | RZB Group

Raiffeisen Zentralbank Österreich AG (RZB) is the core company of the RZB Group. Founded in 1927, RZB is Austria’s third-largest bank and the lead institute of the Austrian Raiffeisen Banking Group (RBG), making it the largest banking group in the country in terms of balance sheet total. The RBG represents about one quarter of the domestic banking market, has the densest network of banks in the country, with more than 2,000 outlets, and employs about 29.000 people.

The RBG has a three-tier structure comprisin the Raiffeisen banks, the Raiffeisen regional banks at provincial level and RZB. The Raiffeisen banks are private cooperative banks and owners of the Raiffeisen regional banks of their respective province. These in turn together hold around 90 per cent of the RZB common shares.

» Shareholder

The Raiffeisen Banking Group

The Raiffeisen Banking Group (RBG) has a three-tier structure and is number 1 in Austria

1st tier: The 474 independent and locally active Raiffeisen banks and their 1,587 outlets form the first tier.

2nd tier:  The Raiffeisen banks of a province are owners of their respective Raiffeisen regional banks, which form the second tier. These are responsible for balancing liquidity and other central services for the Raiffeisen banks within their area of operation and also act as independent universal banks.

3rd tier: RZB is the lead institute of the Raiffeisen Banking Group and forms the third tier in this function, together with central service tasks.


Structure Raiffeisen Banking Group


RZB is the lead institute of the Austrian Raiffeisen Banking Group (RBG). It is the controlling holding for the entire RZB Group, including Raiffeisen Bank International AG (RBI) with one of the largest CEE networks of any Western bank in the region. RZB organises synergies and common solutions between the RBG and RBI, as well as services, products and processes for the RBG

Headquartered in Vienna, RZB also operates a Representative Office in Brussels.


RBI – Most important shareholding of the RZB Group

RBI is Austria’s third-largest bank and one of the country’s leading commercial and investment banks, with a balance sheet total of  € 114.4 billion as per 31 December 2015. RBI resulted from the 2010 merger of Raiffeisen International Bank-Holding AG and the principal business areas of RZB. RBI considers both CEE and Austria as its home market due to its broad distribution network and comprehensive product offer.

One of the largest banking groups in CEE

RZB was already active in CEE even before the process of political transition started in the region and before the fall of the Iron Curtain. RZB founded its first CEE subsidiary bank in Hungary in 1986 and looks back on more than 25 years of experience in the region's banking business. RZB has centralised the responsibility for its CEE banking network - which is one of the largest in the region - at RBI. RBI covers 14 markets across the region through subsidiary banks, leasing companies and a range of other financial service providers.

To complement the products and services in its core business, RBI also offers a range of financial services from specialised companies on the markets in Central and Eastern Europe. These include services related to mergers and acquisitions, privatisation and consulting, equity capital participations, real estate development, project management and fund management.

Niche player on the international markets

Outside of CEE, RBI is a niche player on the international markets, with its representative offices and branches offering a range of products designed to match the specific needs of the Group's clients.

Among Austria's banks, RBI has the strongest presence in Asia, with branch offices in Singapore, Beijing and Xiamen, as well as representative offices in Hong Kong, Zhuhai, Seoul, Mumbai and Ho Chi Minh City. RBI also boasts a strong presence in the world's leading financial centres, with offices in New York and London and representative offices in Brussels, Frankfurt, Paris, Stockholm, Chicago and Houston, underlining its function as a link between East and West.


Network Raiffeisen Bank International

Ingrid Krenn-Ditz

Head of Group Communications | Corporate Spokeswoman
Raiffeisen Bank International AG
Am Stadtpark 9, 1030 Wien
Tel: +43-1-71707-6055
Fax: +43-1-71707-3802
To the contact form